New England Soccer Today

Nguyen, Jones Get Call for Winter Camp

Photo credit: Kari Heistad/

Photo credit: Kari Heistad/

Revolution midfielders Lee Nguyen and Jermaine Jones were called into U.S. Men’s National Team camp on Friday. The camp kicks off on Monday at the StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. and will run through Feb. 8.

Nguyen and Jones are among 28 players who were invited to the annual January camp by coach Jurgen Klinsmann. The U.S. has two friendlies scheduled against Chile on Jan. 28 (Rancagua, Chile) and Panama on Feb. 8 (Carson, Calif.).

The call-up for Nguyen is his second in three months after waiting over seven years in between invites. The 28-year-old midfielder came on in the 76th minute of the U.S.’s 2-1 loss to Colombia on Nov. 14, a match in which he showed the same flair and creativity that made him an MLS MVP finalist in 2014. Incidentally, Nguyen’s previous cap also came against Colombia during the 2007 Copa America tournament.

Jones went the full 90 against Colombia in his second straight start at center back, a position that could allow the Revolution midfielder, who shined during World Cup competition last year, to extend his National Team career.  Jones will be 36-years-old when Russia 2018 arrives.

The call-ups will likely delay the duo’s arrival for Revolution preseason camp, which kicks off on Jan. 22 in Foxborough, Mass.

The U.S. is currently ranked 27th in the FIFA standings. The squad enters camp looking to quiet its critics following a four-game winless streak (0-2-2) marked by the leaking of late-game goals.


GOALKEEPERS (4): Alex Bono (unattached), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Jon Kempin (Sporting Kansas City), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (8): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Christian Dean (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Perry Kitchen (D.C. United), Shane O’Neill (Colorado Rapids), Oscar Sorto (LA Galaxy)

MIDFIELDERS (10): Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Mix Diskerud (out of contract), Dennis Flores (Club Leon), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Miguel Ibarra (Minnesota United FC), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Marc Pelosi (Liverpool), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

FORWARDS (6): Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Julio Morales (Tepic), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (1860 Munich), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

Leave a Reply