New England Soccer Today

Eight Revs on All-Star Ballot

Photo credit: Jeff Bernstein

Photo credit: Jeff Bernstein

The eight New England Revolution players voted onto the fan ballot for the 2015 MLS All-Star Game by the media were revealed on Wednesday. Goalkeeper Bobby Shuttleworth, defender Andrew Farrell, midfielders Jermaine Jones, Lee Nguyen, and Kelyn Rowe and forwards Juan Agudelo, Teal Bunbury, and Charlie Davies are all eligible for fan selection to the MLS All-Star team that will take on Tottenham Hotspur on July 29 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo.

Each team has eight players on the ballot as nominated by media. Now the fans may vote online and via social media (Twitter, Facebook and Instagram) following the instructions through July 3 at 3 p.m. ET. Eleven players – one goalkeeper, three defenders, four midfielders and three forwards – with the highest combined votes will be named to the All-Star Fan XI. One of the three forward spots will also be determined by the player that scores the most goals in the FIFA 15 videogame in that time frame. The MLS All-Star head coach—Colorado Rapids’ Pablo Mastroeni—will select the game day roster from the pool of eligible players, consisting of the Fan XI, MLS Commissioner Don Garber’s two selections and players who received votes from at least two players.

Notably absent from the ballot for New England are midfielder Scott Caldwell, who leads the team in minutes, left back Chris Tierney, and captain and center back Jose Goncalves.

Leave a Reply