New England Soccer Today

Revs Roll in Stunner vs. NYCFC

Photo credit: Chris Aduama/

Photo credit: Chris Aduama/

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. – A trio of goalscorers allowed the New England Revolution to claim a stunning 3-1 win over the first-place New York City FC on Saturday at Gillette Stadium.

Juan Agudelo, Lee Nguyen, and Diego Fagundez all tallied against the top-of-the-table New York City, who allowed the eighth-place Revolution to stake their second-straight win in front of 23,235, who were treated to one of New England’s best performances of the season.

Agudelo opened the account in the 21st minute after latching onto a Diego Fagundez ball in the box before ushering it into the back of the net to score in his second straight match.

Nguyen found paydirt in the 42nd minute on a Kelyn Rowe cross that froze the City defense thanks to a sly dummy from Fagundez to open up the space for the Revolution skipper to send it through.

But City’s high-powered offense was far from finished with an entire 45 to climb back in it. Frank Lampard cut the lead in half by converting an R.J. Allen cross on the doorstep to put the Revolution on notice in the 49th minute.

Lampard’s strike briefly put the Revolution on their heels – at least until the 58th minute, when Fagundez drilled a low drive from outside the box to reclaimed his team’s two-goal lead.

The Revolution forced nine saves out of Josh Saunders, and many of those stops were of the last-ditch variety with the New England offense humming throughout the match.

An 86th minute red card to Federico Bravo only made matters worse for the guests, who were doomed to finish Saturday’s affair with 10 men.

Revolution coach Jay Heaps started a first-choice XI with Tuesday’s U.S. Open Cup final looming, though one notable absence was that of striker Kei Kamara, who missed the match due to a hip strain.

The Revolution will square off against FC Dallas in the Cup final at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Tx. Kickoff is set for 10:00pm ET. The tournament title game is a rematch of the 2007 final, which the Revolution won 3-2.

Leave a Reply