New England Soccer Today

Agudelo & Rowe Named to Preliminary Gold Cup Roster

Photo credit: Kari Heistad/

Revolution forward Juan Agudelo and midfielder Kelyn Rowe were both named to the U.S. Men’s National Team 40-man preliminary roster for next month’s CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Agudelo is the team’s leading scorer with seven goals in 13 games, and tallied in Saturday’s 3-0 win over Toronto FC. Rowe, who’s also sent time at left back this season, has four assists in 15 games for the Revolution.

Interestingly, midfielder Lee Nguyen – who’s racked up six goals and a team-high seven assists in 15 games this year – was not included in the 40-man roster.

Former Western Mass Pioneer Tommy McNamara, who currently plays for New York City FC, earned a spot on the roster.

The final roster for the Gold Cup is expected to be announced later this month.

U.S. Men’s National Team Preliminary Roster:

GOALKEEPERS (6): Joe Bendik (Orlando City SC), Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas), Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Sean Johnson (New York City FC)

DEFENDERS (12): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Matt Miazga (Chelsea/ENG), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/CAN), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Jonathan Spector (Orlando City SC), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna/MEX), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (15): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana/MEX), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/CAN), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/MEX), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Tommy McNamara (New York City FC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Kenny Saief (Gent/BEL), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS (7): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/CAN), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), C.J. Sapong (Philadelphia Union), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Leave a Reply