New England Soccer Today

Feilhaber gets the Call

New England Revolution midfielder and member of the 2010 U.S. World Cup Team, Benny Feilhaber will make his return to the U.S. National Team for its January camp after being left out in the cold since head coach Jürgen Klinsmann took over in July.

Revolution midfielder Benny Feilhaber will make his return to the U.S. National Team in January. (Photo by CHRIS ADUAMA/

The current Revs star will join two former New England talents in midfielder Jeff Larentowicz, now with the Colorado Rapids, and defender Michael Parkhurst, now in Denmark with FC Nordsjaelland. In addition to playing on the Revs, Larentowicz played college soccer for Brown University and Parkhurst grew up in Rhode Island. Houston Dynamo defender and University of Rhode Island product, Geoff Cameron, who grew up in Attleboro, Mass. is also part of the roster.

“This is a very important opportunity for these players,” said Klinsmann. “They are the next in line behind the established players, and this is a chance to prove themselves. We will spend the next few weeks introducing them to our ideas on how we want to play and what it means to be a part of the National Team. Ultimately, it will create more depth for us, which you need at this level. I’m very curious and excited to see this group.”

The training camp will run from January 3-26 in the United States and Panama and culminate in matches against Venezuela on January 21st at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz. and on January 25th at the Estadio Rommel Fernandez in Panama City.

Parkhurst is just one of two players on the 20-man roster who do not currently play in Major League Soccer (MLS), the other being former Houston Dynamo midfielder Ricardo Clark, who now plays in Germany with Eintracht Frankfurt.

Here’s the full roster:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (7): Geoff Cameron (Houston Dynamo), A.J. DeLaGarza (LA Galaxy), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), George John (FC Dallas), Zach Loyd (FC Dallas), Michael Parkhurst (FC Nordsjaelland), Heath Pearce (Chivas USA)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Ricardo Clark (Eintracht Frankfurt), Benny Feilhaber (New England Revolution), Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids), Brek Shea (FC Dallas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4): Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Teal Bunbury (Sporting Kansas City), C.J. Sapong (Sporting Kansas City), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)


Leave a Reply