Fall River Sports Winners at LUSA Awards

2012 LUSA league champions Fall River Sports lift the championship trophy at Saturday’s league awards ceremony. (Photo: Fall River Sports/Bruno Ramos)

League champion Fall River Sports were winners once again at Saturday’s Ligas Unidas Soccer Association Awards Dinner at league headquarters in Fall River, Mass.

In addition to claiming the League Championship, the Lions received accolades in five other categories for their 2012 performances.

Fall River came away with the Team Sportsmanship Award, while head coach Bruno Ramos earned Coach of the Year. Nathan Avelar collected Goalkeeper of the Year, and teammate William Sheppard earned Best New Player honors. Carlos Cabral collected Trainer of the Year, as well.

2012 LUSA Awards

Top four clubs
1. Fall River Sports (League champions)
2. Taunton Eagles
3. East Providence Sports (LUSA Cup and Super Cup Winners)
4. Cranston P.C.

Sportsmanship: Fall River Sports

Best Goalkeeper: Nathan Avelar (Fall River Sports)

Leading Scorer: Kyle Teixeira (East Providence Sports)

Best New Player: William Sheppard (Fall River Sports)

Coach of the Year: Bruno Ramos (Fall River Sports)

Trainer of the Year: Carlos Cabral (Fall River Sports)

Delegate of the Year: Andre Loureiro (Lusitana Sports)

Service to LUSA: Pedro Gaspar

Honored: William Flanagan, Mayor of Fall River

Print Friendly

About Brian O'Connell

Brian O'Connell serves as editor and staff writer at New England Soccer Today. He's also the Revolution beat writer for ESPNBoston.com, and is Officer at Large for the North American Soccer Reporters. He regularly contributes to The Associated Press, and has been featured on MLSSoccer.com & RevsNet.com. Follow him on Twitter: @BrianOConnell21 or contact him via e-mail at BOConnell21@aol.com