Breakers Open Season in Seattle on 4/13

The Boston Breakers learned they will open the season in Seattle against old friend Sydney Leroux and the Reign on Apr. 13 after the NWSL released its 2014 schedule on Friday.

The club, which underwent extensive roster renovations during the offseason, will open its home schedule a week later on Apr. 20 when they host the expansion Houston Dash at Harvard Stadium, the Breakers’ home for 2014. Kickoff is set for 6:30.

The Breakers will play a 24-game regular season schedule that will run through August. Among the most notable games on the fixture list: a May 28 clash against U.S. Women’s National Team forward Alex Morgan and Canadian Women’s National Team captain Christine Sinclair, both of whom play for the defending champion Portland Thorns.

Weeks later,  the Breakers welcome back Leroux, who was traded during the offseason, and her new teammates in their only appearance in Beantown this season on Jun. 19. Meanwhile, U.S. National Team leading all-time leading goalscorer Abby Wambach and the Western New York Flash come to town Aug. 3.

The Breakers conclude the regular season at home against the Dash on Aug. 17.

The 2014 Boston Breakers schedule

Sun. April 13, 2014
Time Home Result Away Location
7:00 pm Seattle Reign FC Boston Breakers Memorial Stadium (Seattle, Wash.)
Sun. April 20, 2014
Time Home Away Location
6:30 pm Boston Breakers Houston Dash Harvard Stadium
Sun. April 27, 2014
Time Home Away Location
6:30 pm Boston Breakers Sky Blue FC Harvard Stadium
Sat. May 3, 2014
Time Home Away Location
7:00 pm Sky Blue FC Boston Breakers Yurcak Field (Piscataway, N.J.)
Thurs. May 15, 2014
Time Home Away Location
7:00 pm Boston Breakers Chicago Red Stars Harvard Stadium

 

Sun. May 18, 2014
Time Home Away Location
6:30 pm Boston Breakers Chicago Red Stars Harvard Stadium
Sun. May 25, 2014
Time Home Away Location
7:00 pm Boston Breakers FC Kansas City Harvard Stadium
Wed. May 28, 2014
Time Home Away Location
7:00 pm Boston Breakers Portland Thorns FC Harvard Stadium
Sun. June 1, 2014
Time Home Away Location
6:30 pm Boston Breakers Washington Spirit Harvard Stadium
Sat. June 7, 2014
Time Home Away Location
7:00 pm FC Kansas City Boston Breakers Durwood Stadium (Kansas City, Mo.)
Wed. June 11, 2014
Time Home Away Location
7:00 pm Boston Breakers Washington Spirit Harvard Stadium

 

Thurs. June 19, 2014
Time Home Away Location
7:00 pm Boston Breakers Seattle Reign FC Harvard Stadium
Sun. June 22, 2014
Time Home Away Location
6:00 pm Sky Blue FC Boston Breakers Yurcak Field (Piscataway, N.J.)
Fri. June 27, 2014
Time Home Away Location
7:30 pm Western New York Flash Boston Breakers Sahlen’s Stadium (Rochester, N.Y.)
Wed. July 2, 2014
Time Home Away Location
7:00 pm Washington Spirit Boston Breakers Maryland SoccerPlex (Boyds, Md.)
Sun. July 6, 2014
Time Home Away Location
7:00 pm Seattle Reign FC Boston Breakers Memorial Stadium (Seattle, Wash.)

 

Fri. July 11, 2014
Time Home Away Location
9:00 pm Houston Dash Boston Breakers BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, Texas)
Sun. July 20, 2014
Time Home Away Location
5:00 pm Portland Thorns FC Boston Breakers Jeld-Wen Field (Portland, Ore.)
Fri. July 25, 2014
7:30 pm Western New York Flash Boston Breakers Sahlen’s Stadium (Rochester, N.Y.)
Sun. Aug. 3, 2014
Time Home Away Location
6:30 pm Boston Breakers Western New York Flash Harvard Stadium
Wed. Aug. 6, 2014
Time Home Away Location
7:00 pm FC Kansas City Boston Breakers Durwood Stadium (Kansas City, Mo.)
Sun. Aug. 10, 2014
Time Home Away Location
6:30 pm Boston Breakers Portland Thorns FC Harvard Stadium

 

Wed. Aug 13, 2014
Time Home Away Location
8:00 pm Chicago Red Stars Boston Breakers Benedictine University Sports Complex (Lisle, Ill.)
Sun. Aug 17, 2014
Time Home Away Location
6:30 pm Boston Breakers Houston Dash Harvard Stadium

 

Print Friendly

About Brian O'Connell

Brian O'Connell serves as editor and staff writer at New England Soccer Today. He's also the Revolution beat writer for ESPNBoston.com, and is Officer at Large for the North American Soccer Reporters. He regularly contributes to The Associated Press, and has been featured on MLSSoccer.com & RevsNet.com. Follow him on Twitter: @BrianOConnell21 or contact him via e-mail at BOConnell21@aol.com