New England Soccer Today

Cameron, Parkhurst Named on U.S. Preliminary Roster

Photo credit: Kari Heistad/

Photo credit: Kari Heistad/

Native New Englanders Geoff Cameron (Attleboro, Mass.) and Michael Parkhurst (Providence, R.I.) were among the 30 players U.S. Men’s National Team coach Jurgen Klinsmann called into camp in preparation for next month’s World Cup in Brazil.

Cameron is finishing up his 2013-14 season with Stoke City of the EPL, where he’s primarily featured as a right back. He was transferred to Stoke during August 2012 following a five-year career with the Houston Dynamo. He’s been capped 24 times, his first coming in 2010.

Parkhurst returned to MLS with the Columbus Crew during the offseason following stints with F.C. Nordsjælland (Danish Superliga) and Augsburg (Bundesliga), and played center back and right back overseas. He was originally drafted by the New England Revolution as a center back in 2005, and was named 2007 MLS Defender of the Year at age 23. He was first capped in 2007, and has collected a total of 25 during his national team career.

Another player with New England connections was also called up by Klinsmann as former Boston College midfielder Alejandro Bedoya made the preliminary roster, as well. Bedoya played at Chestnut Hill from 2007-08, and has been capped 26 times. He currently plays for Ligue 1 side Nantes.


GOALKEEPERS (3) : Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (11) : DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

MIDFIELDERS (10) : Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (6) : Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Leave a Reply