New England Soccer Today

Klinsmann Names First Roster

U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann today unveiled his first U.S. roster since taking over as manager last week. Klinsmann announced 22 players that will travel to Philadelphia to represent the United States against Mexico on August 10th.

The roster includes a mix of experienced veterans and newcomers to the National Team.

“One of the goals of the roster for this game and moving forward is to create competition at each position,” said Klinsmann. “There are many players who are established as well as many players who will get opportunities, and we want there to be a healthy contest for spots on the roster. We will get a good look at where each player is as quickly as we can during the short time in camp, and we will finish with an exciting game against Mexico.”

Mainstays such as Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy/MLS), Tim Howard (Everton FC/England), Carlos Bocanegra (Saint-Etienne/France) and Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96/Germany) are joined by youngsters Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Edgar Castillo (Club America/Mexico), Timothy Chandler (FC Nürnberg/Germany) and Michael Orozco-Fiscal (San Luis/Mecxico). Others, such as DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla/Mexico) and Edson Buddle (FC Ingolstadt/Germany), make their return to the national team after prolonged absences.

Notables who didn’t receive a call include New England Revolution midfielder Benny Feilhaber, who had a spot on the U.S. roster for the Gold Cup until an ankle injury forced him to withdraw. Feilhaber has since fully recovered, but still did not make the roster for the upcoming exhibition with Mexico. Others, such as ex-Rev Clint Dempsey (Fulham FC/England), were left off the roster presumably due to busy schedules at their European club teams.

The match against Mexico, Klinsmann’s first as head coach, is set to kickoff at 9 p.m. ET on August 10th and can be seen live on ESPN2.

The full U.S. roster is below:

GOALKEEPERS (2): Bill Hamid (D.C.United), Tim Howard (Everton)

DEFENDERS (8): Carlos Bocanegra (Saint-Etienne), Edgar Castillo (Club America), Timmy Chandler (FC Nürnberg), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Michael Orozco Fiscal (San Luis), Heath Pearce (Chivas USA), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Ricardo Clark (Eintracht Frankfurt), Maurice Edu (Rangers), Jermaine Jones (Schalke 04), Brek Shea (FC Dallas), Jose Torres (Pachuca)

FORWARDS (5): Freddy Adu (Benfica), Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Edson Buddle (FC Ingolstadt), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy)

One Comment

  1. rick sewall

    August 9, 2011 at 11:15 am

    I am a little surprised that Kevin Alston wasnt picked for the team Maybe next time. I hope Jurgen plays pure possession soccer. If the team learns how to shoot, and ,believe me, several players dont, the goals will come.

Leave a Reply